- ACLS Humanities E-Books
Nearly 3700 full text titles have been provided by the American Council of Learned Societies
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1, 1691-1820
Presents more than 500 periodical titles dating from 1691 through 1820. Almost every 17th- and 18th-century American title is represented in addition to the majority of works published before 1821.
- American History in Video
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
- Aquinas, The Collected Works of St. Thomas
This database contains virtually all translations of St. Thomas Aquinas. The only work translated and published through ordinary channels which we know to be missing is the Catena Aurea (translated by Peter Newman in the mid-19th century).
- Art Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts over 450 art journals, yearbooks and museum catalogs.
- Art Index Retrospective
Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications. Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 features coverage English-language periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
- Artbibliographies Modern
Indexes and abstracts articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs and dissertations on all aspects of art from the late 19th century to the present.
Coverage, late 1960s--.
Provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world. The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas. To download or save images, please create an ARTstor account.
- ATLA Historical Monographs Collection Series 2
Containing titles published from 1894-1923, this collection offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans, including growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions. The collection includes materials on the evangelical movement, evangelical sermons on the debates between science and religion, biographies of 19th century theologians, books by and about women and the church, and information Native Americans and religion.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) contains indexes and abstracts articles from over 500 theology religion journals as well as book reviews and essay collections. Full text of many titles included.
- Bibliography of the History of Art
Freely supplied database by J. Paul Getty Trust.
Covers the years 1990 to 2007
- Biography in Context
Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with 600,000+ biographical entries — on more than 528,000 individuals — spanning history and geography.
- Cambridge Histories Online
This digital collection offers unique content and enhanced usability and functionality over the print editions of the Cambridge Histories published since the 1960s. Subjects vary widely and include such topics as American History, European History, the History of Science, Political and Social Theory, Warfare, Language and Linguistics, Music, Philosophy, and more.
The study of the ancient world is a cornerstone of Western scholarship. It possesses a long history with a rich, well-established critical literature, and it is also a highly active field, which constantly produces new discoveries, interpretations, and theories
- Dance in Video
Contains 500 hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
- Drama Online
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. Includes Play Tools with Character Grids, Words and Speech graphs and Part Books as a new way to engage with plays for close study or for performance.
- Filmakers Library Online
Provides award-winning documentaries in race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
- Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational video content into your curriculum by providing easy integration with learning management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog systems. Most titles are available for individual lease or purchase, or through subscriptions to our robust, curriculum-focused subjects
- Grove Art Online (now included with Oxford Art Online)
Online version of the 34–volume Grove Dictionary of Art.
- Humanities Source
Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Indexes and abstracts articles from over 500 journals in library science and related fields.
- MasterFILE Premier
Provides articles from over 500 reference books as well as primary sources and images. Coverage, 1975-
- Music Bibliography
Music bibliography combines the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and a traditional bibliography in a style tailored to meet the needs of today’s online researchers. An Oxford bibliography.
Searchable collection of electronic books on a variety of subjects.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
- Opera in Video
Contains 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
Orlando is a comprehensive electronic database relating to women's writing in the British Isles. It offers a wealth of biographical and critical information on more than 1200 writers, together with entries on literary and historical events. The database offers entries on authors' lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, internal links and bibliographies. Entries are tagged, enabling searches to focus not only on author, date and place but also on such issues as genre, intertextuality, and relations with publishers.
- Oxford Art Online
Includes the full text of the Grove Dictionary of Art as well as other art reference sources.
- Oxford Reference
Contains fully searchable dictionaries , encyclopedias and other reference sources published by Oxford University Press.
RefWorks provides solutions for research management, writing and collaboration.
You will need to register on campus.
- Renaissance and Reformation
The period of the Renaissance and Reformation, which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries, is rich in history and culture. An Oxford Bibliography
- Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape offers unique access to rare and priceless literary sources that are indispensible for scholars and students studying William Wordsworth and the Romantic period.
- Serials Directory
List magazines, journals and newspapers indexed in databases at PC. Provides information on full-text availability.
- Serials Solutions
Allows you to search for journals, magazines, and newspapers by title.
- Silent Film
This database brings together more than 500 films which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. The database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s. From Griffith's crosscutting at the climax of Birth of a Nation to Robert Wiene's use of camera angles and stage settings in The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari to Eisenstein's editing of the Odessa Steps sequence in Potemkin, these films together developed the narrative language of cinema that we know today. Showcasing this legendary period in film history, the Silent Film Online database provides unparalleled streaming access to some of the most important films in the history of the medium.
- The Vogue Archive
Textiles and dress, Fashion history, Popular culture, Gender studies
Photography and graphic design, Marketing and advertising are illustrated in this magazine from 1892 to the current month
- Theatre in Video
Presents videos of more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
- TOPIC Search
Includes full text of articles on specific topics of current interest from almost 400 magazines, newspapers and other sources.
Database allowing checking of student papers for possible plagiarism.
(Check with your professor for login info)
- Victorian Popular Culture
An essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. This innovative portal invites users into the darkened halls, small backrooms and traveling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic and spiritualist séances.
- Women's Studies International
Women’s Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
- World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean
This resource serves the needs of students and researchers by bringing together in a single place a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.
Lists books and other holdings of all libraries major American and many international libraries.