American Studies

Collection of documents focused on the Presidency from UC-Santa Barbara.

This online reference source, sponsored by the University of Virginia, provides brief biographies, political & cabinet information, major accomplishments, and more for each of the Presidents of the United States of America.

Main office is located in Washington, D.C.

Digital collection of historical American newspapers from the Library of Congress. Coverage from 1789 to present.

Site sponsored by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this collection provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture.

Sponsored by Michigan State University. Digital collection of historical American cookbooks

Dates 1492-1850
JCB preserves one of the world’s outstanding collections of primary sources – including books, maps, manuscripts, and other printed materials – related to all aspects of the so-called “New World” during the period stretching from the late-fifteenth century to the middle of the 19th century.

Sponsored by Cornell University Library
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is comprised of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Library of Congress's Congressional Research Service

Research on the internet from the nonpartisan Pew Research Center.

The individuals who comprise the PCA/ACA are a group of scholars and enthusiasts who study popular culture.

Includes recordings & transcripts of meetings, telephone calls, etc. from the administrations of Franklin D. Roosevelt, Harry S. Truman, Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, & Richard M. Nixon.

This project contains primary source documents from the American Civil War from Augusta County, VA and Franklin County, PA from the time of John Brown's Raid to the Era of Reconstruction.