Research Guides: Data & Statistics: Federal Government Data Alternative Sources

Alternative Data Sources (last updated 7/3/25)

This is a coordinated effort of several groups that builds on the Data Rescue Efforts Google Doc below. HERE is the best place to start for any search for deleted government data. Donations to this project can be made HERE.

The U.S. Global Change Research Program

This website was taken down on Monday, June 30th. This had been a major source of climate change information. Some of the program's publications are available in the NOAA Archives. Others that are no longer available can be found at Policy Commons. The Internet Archive has an archived version of the site dated June 29.

End of Term Web Archive
This is used every four years to document what are usually small changes to federal websites but which has become more important this year.
Extracted Data Contributions
Alternative source of federal government data on health and the environment, including the CDC's Social Vulnerability Index. This was last updated on 7/1.
Preserving Public U.S. Federal Data
Project of the Harvard Law School Library.
Archive of data.gov
Created by Harvard Law Library's Library Innovation Lab and still under development. Contains files collected between 2024-11-19 and 2025-02-06
CDC datasets uploaded before January 28th, 2025
Internet Archive collection of all publically available CDC data as of 1/28/25. Can be a little slow.
Public Environmental Data Project
A collection of organizations and academic institutions archiving federal government environmental data.
Climate and Economic Justice Tool
Archived copy of the now longer available EPA Environmental Justice Screening Tool.
Links to archived versions of every CDC.gov page available pre-purge (Part 1 of 15)
Alphabeticaly listed archive links to 7,200 CDC webpages that were available as of 1/27/25
Government Documents Roundtable (GODORT) 2025 Presidential Transitions
Resources from a major government documents librian's organization.
Data Sets & Guidance from the CDC, EPA, HRSA and more!
Very well organized data archive from Healthy Regions & Policies (HeRoP) Lab of the Department of Geography & GIS at the University of Illinois - Urbana. Updated on 4/10.
DataLumos
A crowd-sourced repository for valuable government data supported by the ICPSR. Continuously being update.

ICPSR, openICPSR, and IPUMS are also sources of some data that is no longer available through the federal government.

UC San Diego has a great guide to all the various facets of the transition from Biden to Trump.