Black Studies

Features a mix of primary sources and original research from African Studies & Black Studies academic journals. Contents date from 1650 to present. Primary sources are browsable by clicking the three lines in the upper left and selecting Browse.

Scholarly, secondary literature covering the history and culture of the US and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Articles, citations, and book reviews from publications in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Articles, book reviews, & essay collections from over 500 theology & religion journals. Scriptures search tool at top of the page finds work on Bible down to the verse level.

Contains materials pertaining to interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between the late 15th century and the late 19th century.

Provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.

Features over three million high-quality images from all over the world, with coverage from 7000 BCE to the present.

More than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres.

Collection of publications offering coverage of African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage from 1827 to 1998.

Collection of primary source documents, academic journal articles, news feeds, reference and analysis articles, maps, statistics, audio and video about Latin America and the Caribbean. Coverage from 1492 to present.

Contains the full text of all articles published in the New York Times from 1851 to 2006.

Includes all articles published in print editions of the New York Times. Coverage from 1980 to present.

Single-service portal that cross-searches numerous primary source databases featuring content from major international newspapers, books, and historical documents. Coverage from 1468 to 2015.

Offers documentaries on numerous topics, such as race, gender studies, human rights, global studies, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science, psychology, arts, literature, and many others.

Streaming video service that provides access to more than 24,000 full-length educational films and over 250,000 film and news segments.

Includes access to more than 600 journals in all areas of the social sciences. Coverage from 1983 to present.

Articles on gender studies including the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles.

Scholarly and professional journals from the American Anthropological Association.

Includes access to over 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.

Articles from almost 1,000 magazines and scholarly journals in education and related fields. Also includes over 300,000 ERIC documents. Coverage from 1966 to present.

Summary of historical statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Coverage from 1610 to 2012.

A good place to start for most topics with a wide range of scholarly journals and articles, along with some newspaper and news magazine content.

Provides complete full-text coverage of over 1000 leading journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences as well as over three million licensed, high-quality images previously in Artstor.

Provides full text of articles from 440 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Two million digitized entries spanning 25 different subject areas.

Collections of original reports and analyses on issues of current interest such as health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.