Research Guides: Primary Sources: Theology

Databases

America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
Dates: 1639-1819
More than 100,000 early American monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, and rare printed materials.
Aquinas, The Collected Works of St. Thomas This link opens in a new window
Dates: 1256-1274
Contains virtually all translations of St. Thomas Aquinas. The only work we know to be missing is the Catena Aurea (translated by Peter Newman in the mid-19th century).
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Features over three million high-quality images from all over the world, with coverage from 7000 BCE to the present.
The ARTstor platform will be retired August 2024, but the full image library is already available in JSTOR Images
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Dates: 1894-1923
Contains historical articles on the evangelical movement, evangelical sermons, biographies of 19th century theologians, books by and about women and the church, and information on Native Americans and religion.
ATLA Historical Monograph Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Dates: 1200-1893
More than 15,000 titles from 13th Century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions.
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
Dates: 200-1216.
Contains the full text of works of the early Church Fathers.

Ebooks

The Qur'an : an encyclopedia
2006 scholarly encyclopedia.
The Cambridge Companion to the Qur'an
Fourteen scholarly, introductory essays on the Qur'an.

Print Books

The stacks are currently closed. Please click on the title you would like and then click on the Hold button, and the book will be obtained for you.

ATLA CDRI Image Database
Wide variety of scanned digital primary source images.
British Library Online Gallery: Sacred Texts
300+ digital scans of religious texts from the 2nd century AD onwards.
Torah.org
Online Jewish education material including archived online classes.
ATLA Research in Ministry (RIM)
Abstracts of theology theses and dissertations.
BuddhaNet
A reliable general source for scholarly articles and other resources on Buddhism.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Digital library of classic Christian literature, includes a section of works from the Early Church Fathers.
Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library
High quality digital images of the Dead Sea Scrolls as well as some background information.
The Jewish Encyclopedia
Full text of 12 volume scholarly encyclopedia published in 1906.
Papal Encyclicals Online
Online repository of Papal encyclicals and other official Catholic Church documents. Browseable by Pope and keyword search.
Vatican: The Holy See
Official English language site for The Vatican.
Wolsey Manuscripts
Liturgical manuscripts made in 1530 for England's Thomas Wolsey, cardinal and first minister of Henry VIII.