Research Guides: HIS 100: The “Gypsies” of Europe: Research Guides Digital Primary Sources, and PC Archives Resources

Research Guides

PC Archives & Special Collections homepage
Homepage of the PC ASC. Search here to find out more about our physical & digital collections.
Visit the PC ASC
This page includes information about how to contact the archives as well as how to visit us for primary source assistance (including help with digital archives).

	Definition	Characteristics	Examples
Primary	Original documents created or experienced concurrently with the event being researched.	Firsthand observations, contemporary accounts of the event. Viewpoint of the time.	Interviews, news footage, data sets, original research, speeches, diaries, letters, creative works, photographs
Secondary	Works that analyze, assess, or interpret a historical event, an era, or a phenomenon. Generally uses primary sources.	Interpretation of information, usually written well after an event. Offers reviews or critiques.	Research studies, literary criticism, book reviews, biographies, textbooks

Univ. of Michigan Romani Studies Guide
Libguide created by the University of Michigan in support of Romani Studies within their Eastern European Studies Program. Includes many useful links & resources.
The Roma Program at Harvard University
Part of Harvard’s FXB Center for Health & Human Rights, the Roma Program aims to shift Romani studies away from the margins of academic interest and toward a central place in social and political theory and in multidisciplinary and multiregional studies.

more... less...

The programs seeks to put Roma rights on academic and policy agendas in the United States and elsewhere by amplifying the voices of leading and emerging Romani scholars and leaders through research, events, and publications. Includes many useful links and resources.
“When the Roma Came to Rhode Island,” Small State Big History
A brief history of Roma and Traveller communities in and around Rhode Island in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes bibliographic references to many primary sources and citations to historic articles from the Providence Journal.

more... less...

The Online Review of Rhode Island History has been formed to promote the state's history and offers a variety of articles intended for a popular audience, but with an eye for accuracy over legend.