Research Guides: Nursing: Home

Essential Nursing Sources

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
For nursing and related health research, with more than 50 nursing specialties, containing quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, and CEU models.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Citation-only database from the National LIbrary of Medicine with 5,200 journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE citations plus additional material totaling over 35 million citations. The most comprehensive biomedical database.

Medical Subject Headings
Searchable thesaurus for determining the appropriate vocabulary to use when searching PubMed or Medline.
NEJM New England Journal of Medicine

NLM - National Library of Medicine
Home of multiple programs, including PubMed.
NLN National League for Nursing Archives
PLOS (Public Library of Science) One
Online open-access peer-reviewed journals often with article datasets.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and book chapters on interdisciplinary science topics from peer-reviewed journals and eBooks.
Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides content from more than 300 publications dealing with health policy and closely aligned topics.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A good place to start for most topics with a wide range of scholarly journals and articles, along with some newspaper and newsmagazine content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text coverage of over 1000 leading journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences as well as over three million licensed, high-quality images previously in Artstor.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from 440 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Two million digitized entries spanning 25 different subject areas.
CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Collections of original reports and analyses on issues of current interest such as health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Google Scholar
Google's search engine for locating scholarly literature. Searches scholarly articles, books, and other technical or research content. Often helpful for locating specific articles when you already know the title.