Research Guides: Storage: Find Journal Articles

Example databases - click on one to check it out!

Databases, Journals and Research Guides

Click here for a full list of all of our 300+ databases, which you can browse and sort by title, subject, and type.

Click here to see our complete holdings of journals and periodicals, which you can search by subject or for specific titles.

Not sure where to start your research? We have a number of Research Guides available to help point researchers in the right direction, including many subject-specific guides. Click here to see the full list.

General Research Resources

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Two million digitized entries spanning 25 different subject areas.
CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Collections of original reports and analyses on issues of current interest such as health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A good place to start for most topics with a wide range of scholarly journals and articles, along with some newspaper and newsmagazine content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text coverage of over 1000 leading journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences as well as over three million licensed, high-quality images previously in Artstor.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from 440 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Google Scholar
Google's search engine for locating scholarly literature. Searches scholarly articles, books, and other technical or research content. Often helpful for locating specific articles when you already know the title.

What does the 'Find full text @PC' button do?

When you're searching for articles, you may notice a button that looks like this next to some of your search results:

If the article you want isn't available on the page you're viewing, you can click that button to determine if the library has access to it elsewhere. If we do, you'll be directed to whichever database contains the full text of the article, or to our print holdings of the journal. (Don't know how to access the print holdings? Use the box to the left to ask a librarian for help!)

If PC doesn't have access to the article either online or in print, you can request it from another library via Inter-Library Loan. Of course, it takes some time for us to get it, so be sure to request your item well before you need it!

EBSCO Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A good place to start for most topics with a wide range of scholarly journals and articles, along with some newspaper and newsmagazine content.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, secondary literature covering the history and culture of the US and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Useful for Western Civilization.
Comprehensive database for ancient Greek and Roman history, literature, languages, archaeology, religion and philosophy.
Art Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Useful for Art and Art History.
Indexes and abstracts over 450 art journals, yearbooks and museum catalogs.
Coverage, 1984-present.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Articles, book reviews, & essay collections from over 500 theology & religion journals. Scriptures search tool at top of the page finds work on Bible down to the verse level.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains over 10,000 company SWOT analyses and a selection of the most important scholarly business journals dating back to 1886.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
For nursing and related health research, with more than 50 nursing specialties, containing quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, and CEU models.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes full text for over 450 journals, with some coverage for hundreds more.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
The most reliable full-text source for economic research, this database offers full text for hundreds of journals including the American Economic Association.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Articles from almost 1,000 magazines and scholarly journals in education and related fields. Also includes over 300,000 ERIC documents. Coverage from 1966 to present.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Good for scholarly research on film & television theories, screenwriting, production, cinematography, and more.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles on the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides content from more than 300 publications dealing with health policy and closely aligned topics.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World history coverage (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Primarily intended for grades 5-12. World history database that includes scholarly articles, newspapers, maps, biographies, and more.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Features scholarly articles and book reviews from over a thousand journals pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought across all fields of the humanities.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from over 500 journals in library science and related fields.
Coverage, 1965—
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Secondary/peer-reviewed and primary sources.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Indexes and reviews articles from over 400 journals in mathematics and related fields.
Coverage, 1940—
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the contents of 580 of the most-used biomedical and health science journals.
Mental Measurements Yearbook Online This link opens in a new window
The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides a guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Test areas include psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Policy and scholarly sources on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa from the 19th century to the present.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from over 140 magazines as well as primary sources and images appropriate for middle school students.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content related to all branches of the military and government.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes literary criticism from over 4,000 journals, along with some book chapters and dissertations. Coverage from 1920 to present.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Dates:1997-present.
Access to more than 860 full-text newspapers, and more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles related to New Testament studies from scholarly journals and books.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles related to Old Testament studies from scholarly journals and books.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Useful for Philosophy. Contains articles from about 570 scholarly journals and book chapters in philosophy and related fields.
Coverage, 1940--.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 520 journals, over 340 reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 conference papers.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Features access to the full text of articles from more than 70 scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association and related psychological organizations.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the contents of more than 2400 scholarly journals in psychology and related fields, as well as book chapters and dissertations. Coverage from 1800s to present.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Database featuring articles from numerous American and Canadian general-interest magazines. Coverage from 1890 to 1982.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Dates: 1990 - present
Provides full text of articles from over 80 regional business publications.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Database featuring content from publications about music and related subjects in all document types from around the world.
Science & Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains over 830 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community.
Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes access to more than 600 journals in all areas of the social sciences. Coverage from 1983 to present.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes access to over 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
TOPIC Search This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of articles on specific topics of current interest from almost 400 magazines, newspapers and other sources.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies and feminist research from before 1972 to the present with over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.