OER/ Open Access

The Open Textbook movement focuses on the creation of books that are built specifically for use as free or low-cost options for education.  Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each repository has a particular focus, and items you can't find in other collections. While there are other lower cost options out there, this list focuses exclusively on freely available content.

• The University of Minnesota Open Textbook Catalog (https://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/)
  • This site is a clearinghouse of links to books housed in various locations, including OpenStax, Saylor and others, with over 140 books.
  • To be on the list, the books must be used by author's institution and by at least one other institution.
• OpenStax College (http://openstaxcollege.org) These books were developed following traditional textbook publishing methods, including peer review, editorial support, and creation of ancillary content.  These books are available in multiple formats (PDF, print on demand, on the Web) and are licensed to be revised and remixed by faculty who want create a custom solution for a course. 
  • Supported by CNX/Rice University and foundation grants. 
  • Current books include:  Anatomy and Physiology, Biology (majors),  Concepts of Biology (non-majors),  Pre-Calculus, Calculus (three volumes), College Algebra & Trigonometry, College Algebra, College Physics (algebra-based), Principles of Economics, Macro-Economics, Micro-Economics,  Introduction to Sociology, Introductory Statistics, Psychology, U.S. History, Financial Accounting, Managerial Accounting, Management, Introduction to Business, Business Ethics, Business Law, Entrepreneurship, Organizational Behavior, Psychology, Sociology.
• MIT Open Courseware

  • MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity. Materials are available from over 2400 courses all MIT departments.

• British Columbia Open Campus Textbook list
  • This collection includes texts written specifically for the BC OpenTextbook initiative (the plan to have 40 books by September of 2014) as well as books from other sources.  
  • You can find out more about the BC textbook project.
• The Directory of OpenAccess Books (http://www.doabooks.org/doab) 
  • This site is a clearinghouse of links to books hosted in various locations, and includes a large selection of international textbooks.
• Johnson & Wales University
  • JWU OER publishing platform where you can adopt, adapt, or create open access books.
• Saylor.org Bookshelf (http://www.saylor.org/books/)
  • This collection includes books written specifically for Saylor.org as well as the original editions of the FlatWorldKnowledge textbooks (subsequent editions are only offered for purchase).  
  • You can view all their resources by subject area in their library. 
• Open Access Publishing in European Networks (http://www.oapen.org/home)
  • The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences.  OAPEN has books in multiple languages and covering a large variety of topics. 
  • There is a range of licensing for the books, but each books is clearly marked with the license.