Development of Western Civilization

Original text and English translation of the most important works from Greek and Latin literature. Covers from 700 BC to 1000 AD.

Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory.

Scholarly essays about literature, religion, history and other topics in the humanities. It covers from the Bronze Age (3000 BCE) to the present.

Two million digitized entries spanning 25 different subject areas.

Scholarly overview essays about American and world history from the neolithic (5000 BCE) to the recent past.

Includes the full text of the Grove Dictionary of Art as well as other art reference sources.

More than 8,000 articles about composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres.

A good place to start for most topics with a wide range of scholarly journals and articles, along with some newspaper and newsmagazine content.

Provides complete full-text coverage of over 1000 leading journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences as well as over three million licensed, high-quality images previously in Artstor.

Provides full text of articles from 440 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Scholarly, secondary literature covering the history and culture of the US and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Articles, book reviews, & essay collections from over 500 theology & religion journals. Scriptures search tool at top of the page finds work on Bible down to the verse level.

World history coverage (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Indexes literary criticism from over 4,000 journals, along with some book chapters and dissertations. Coverage from 1920 to present.

Useful for Philosophy. Contains articles from about 570 scholarly journals and book chapters in philosophy and related fields.
Coverage, 1940--.