Research Guides: Theology: Home

Essential Theology Sources

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Articles, book reviews, & essay collections from over 500 theology & religion journals. Scriptures search tool at top of the page finds work on Bible down to the verse level.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text coverage of over 1000 leading journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences as well as over three million licensed, high-quality images previously in Artstor.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles related to New Testament studies from scholarly journals and books.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles related to Old Testament studies from scholarly journals and books.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A good place to start for most topics with a wide range of scholarly journals and articles, along with some newspaper and newsmagazine content.

Search typeSearch for…

Providence College HELIN Libraries Libraries Worldwide

Search typeSearch for…

Ebook Central (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
More than 1,800,000 ebook titles that can be either read online using a web browser or downloaded.

Christianity: A Very Short Introduction
Oxford University Press Very Short Introduction Series
Catholicism: A Very Short Introduction
Oxford University Press Very Short Introductions Series
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Articles contained in fifteen volumes describe issues relating to and affecting the Catholic Church
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity
First eight centuries of the Christian church.

Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new window
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology
Short dictionary definitions of important theological conceps.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Short dictionary of important elements of the Christian experience.
New Encyclopedia of Judiasm
One volume encyclopedia from 2002.
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints
More than 1,700 entries covering saints from around the world and an introduction that explains the steps towards becoming a saint and the processes of beatification and canonization.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Contains over 6,500 cross-referenced A-Z entries, and offers unrivalled coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; other church leaders; saints; and mystic

The Coptic Encyclopedia
Call Number: BX130.5 .C66 1991
The library has volumes 1 - 8.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Useful for Philosophy. Contains articles from about 570 scholarly journals and book chapters in philosophy and related fields.
Coverage, 1940--.

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on European history from 300 to 1700.

Biblical Archaeology Society Library This link opens in a new window
Includes the following:
Biblical Archaeology Review (1975-present)
Bible Review (1986-2006)
Archaeology Odyssey (1998-2006)

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A good place to start for most topics with a wide range of scholarly journals and articles, along with some newspaper and newsmagazine content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text coverage of over 1000 leading journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences as well as over three million licensed, high-quality images previously in Artstor.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from 440 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Two million digitized entries spanning 25 different subject areas.
CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Collections of original reports and analyses on issues of current interest such as health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Google Scholar
Google's search engine for locating scholarly literature. Searches scholarly articles, books, and other technical or research content. Often helpful for locating specific articles when you already know the title.