Virtual/Web Reference

Website offering basic information about more than 7,000 hospitals nationwide. Offers a profile search tool that can be used to compare characteristics between different hospitals.

Official website of the CDC, a U.S. federal agency dedicated to protecting the public's health. Operates under the oversight of the Department of Health and Human Services.

Health information portal by the American Academy of Family Physicians.

Official website of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, a federal agency responsible for ensuring the safety of drugs, biological products and medical devices, the food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.

.

An annual government report on trends in health statistics.

from Sloan-Kettering

Website offering medical reference information covering thousands of topics across all fields of medicine. Available for free in both professional and consumer versions.

Official website of the National Institute of Mental Health, the U.S. government's lead agency for research on mental disorders. Maintained by the National Institutes of Health.

Official website of the National Institutes of Health, the primary U.S. government agency responsible for supporting biomedical and public health research.

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health

Physician's Desk Reference

A database of resources covering mental health, substance abuse, disability, general health, human rights and development

Blog covering how to simplify life, living frugally, parenting, motivation, eating healthily, etc.

Official website of the CDC, a U.S. federal agency dedicated to protecting the public's health. Operates under the oversight of the Department of Health and Human Services.

Classic British ads.

The Emory University Global Health Institute was established by the President of Emory University to develop innovative research, training, and programs to address the most pressing health challenges around the world, particularly in developing countries.

An annual government report on trends in health statistics.

The Kaiser Family Foundation's global health gateway serves as an online clearinghouse for the latest data and information on the U.S. role in global health. It brings together original policy analysis and research from the Foundation, provides the new daily news synthesis, Daily Global Health Policy Report, tracks legislation through a new Policy Tracker, and features fact sheets, country-level data through Kaiser's Global Health Facts, and more.

Official website of the National Institutes of Health, the primary U.S. government agency responsible for supporting biomedical and public health research.

Official website of the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan institution that conducts social science research within the United States. Includes research on a wide range of public opinion and social issue topics.

The Pew Research Center's Social & Demographic Trends project studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure. The project explores these topics by combining original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis.

A collaborative website covering the intersections of medical anthropology, science and technology studies, cultural psychiatry, psychology and bioethics.

Official website of the World Health Organization, the United Nations agency responsible for international public health. Features both quantitative and qualitative data on a myriad of health policy topics.

Official website of the CDC, a U.S. federal agency dedicated to protecting the public's health. Operates under the oversight of the Department of Health and Human Services.

Official website of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the federal agency responsible for enhancing the enhance the health and well-being of all Americans.

Official website of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, a federal agency responsible for ensuring the safety of drugs, biological products and medical devices, the food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.

Official website of the National Library of Medicine, the medical library of the U.S. federal government. Offers information resources in areas such as biomedical literature, health data standards, and the history of medicine.

Official website of the European Medicines Agency, a branch of the European Union roughly equivalent of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Responsible for the evaluation and supervision of medicines within the E.U.

Official website of the World Health Organization, the United Nations agency responsible for international public health. Features both quantitative and qualitative data on a myriad of health policy topics.

Official website of the American Public Health Association, a professional organization for public health professionals in the U.S.

Website that presents research data related to unwarranted disparities in health care access and use in the U.S. Maintained by The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice at Dartmouth College.

Official website of the Kaiser Family Foundation, a non-profit organization that performs research, analysis and polling on U.S. health policy issues.

Website offering extensive research on access to health care and state and federal health policy. Includes a tool for comparing health care data across states.

Website offering basic information about more than 7,000 hospitals nationwide. Offers a profile search tool that can be used to compare characteristics between different hospitals.

Website offering open access to numerous historical research resources in medicine and related sciences. Includes content originally published in book, journal, image, audio and video formats.

Website offering medical reference information covering thousands of topics across all fields of medicine. Available for free in both professional and consumer versions.

The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.

Collection of documents focused on the Presidency from UC-Santa Barbara.

The Archives Hub enables you to search across a wealth of archives held at nearly 200 institutions in England, Scotland and Wales.

Dates 400 BCE-Present
From Yale Law School

Site created & maintained by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University and the University of Missouri-Kansas City

Digital collection of historical American newspapers from the Library of Congress. Coverage from 1789 to present.

Makes millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience.

Dates 1400-2000
Primary sources and general reference on significant events in American history.

Site sponsored by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this collection provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture.

The Foreign Relations of the US series from the US Dept of State Office of the Historian

Topics covered include prominent women, women & mental health, women's correspondence, women's groups & associations, women's diaries, and women & politics.

Website dedicated to presenting narrative documentation of migration to and within the U.S. by African Americans. Produced in partnership by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture and the New York Public Library.

Contains hundreds of local files as well as links to source texts throughout the net.

Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 366 billion archived web pages.

Part of the Internet History Sourcebooks Project located at the History Department of Fordham University, New York.

The John Carter Brown Library preserves one of the world’s premier collections of primary sources related to all aspects of the so-called “New World” during the period stretching from the late-fifteenth century to the middle of the nineteenth century.

Sponsored by Cornell University Library
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is comprised of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Hosted by Tufts University the Perseus Digital Library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.

RIAMCO is the gateway to information about archival collections in Rhode Island. Search the database’s finding aids to discover what historical materials are available for research and where those collections are located.

The Rhode Island Historical Society online catalog contains records for all genres of the Society's collections. This includes, but is not limited to: books, objects, maps, manuscripts, newspapers, paintings, film, textiles, pamphlets, and broadsides.

The Slave Rolls Project is a geographic index of 5971 files digitized by the National Archives. Each file contains payrolls for impressed enslaved laborers forced to work for the Confederacy.

The Trans-Atlantic and Intra-American slave trade databases are the culmination of several decades of independent and collaborative research by scholars drawing upon data in libraries and archives around the Atlantic world.

WikiLeaks specializes in the analysis and publication of large datasets of censored or otherwise restricted official materials involving war, spying and corruption. It has so far published more than 10 million documents and associated analyses.

From the Hebrew Union College Jewish Institute of Religion

From the Fritz Bauer Institute of the Goethe University (in German)

From Yale University

From the US National Archives.

From Fordham University, last updated in 2007.

The story of the Jewish community of Vilna from Yah Vashem

From the Simon Wiesenthal Center

Digitized documents from the Nuremberg Trials.

Private, non-profit organization based in Rhode Island.

From the University of Southern California

From the University of Michigan-Dearborn

From the Illinois Institute of Technology, oral histories and map resources, last updated in 2009

From the Center for White Rose Studies

The World Holocaust Remembrance Center in Israel.

Resources for teachers and students. National Endowment for the Humanities

Official website of the National Film Preservation Foundation, a not-for-profit organization that works to preserve America's film heritage.

Repository of links to academic sources and web sites maintained by religious organizations. Maintained by Dr. Mahlon H. Smith of Rutgers University's Department of Religion.

Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images. With access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from our world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe—as well as our books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.

Great article from Lifehacker with tips on copyright, fair use, and how to tell if you are legally able to use and image or not.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives.

The British Library’s collections on Flickr Commons offer over 65,000 books from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries. Over time more public domain collections will be added.

Find engaging Creative Commons licensed pictures in Flickr

Search for images that are available for use under Creative Commons licensing

This digital collection provides access to over 3,500 daguerreotypes in libraries, museums, and archives across Harvard.

Search a database of millions of photos licensed for reuse.

Images from books in the Internet Archive.

The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.

The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required.

The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.

This guide will help you find and correctly attribute public domain and Creative Commons media for your project or presentation.

Browse more than 406,000 hi-res images of public-domain works in The Met collection that can be downloaded, shared, and remixed without restriction.

Free image exchange for creative professionals and teachers to use in their work.

Wikimedia Commons

Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures.

Repository of images of from Dutch arts and history. Maintained by the Rijksmuseum, the national museum of the Netherlands.

Free stock photos that need no attribution and can be manipulated as you want.

The Economics and Statistics Administration within the US Department of Commerce provide timely access to key economic indicators from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and US Census Bureau.

Spanish language encyclopedia available through World Book. Made available through AskRI.org (can only access while in RI)

An AskRI resource - can only be accessed while in RI

This portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." Typically, this content is published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies that are not controlled by commercial publishers.

Georgetown University

Stanford University

Cornell Law School

Cornell University

Official web site for the Supreme Court.

From Washington University Law: The Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2019 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices.

The Audiovisual Library is a unique, multimedia resource which provides the United Nations with the unprecedented capacity to provide high quality international law training and research materials to an unlimited number of recipients on a global level. The Audiovisual Library consists of three pillars: (1) the Historic Archives containing documents and audiovisual materials relating to the negotiation and adoption of significant legal instruments under the auspices of the United Nations and related agencies since 1945; (2) the Lecture Series featuring a permanent collection of lectures on virtually every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different countries and legal systems; and (3) the Research Library providing an on-line international law library with links to treaties, jurisprudence, publications and documents, scholarly writings and research guides. The Audiovisual Library is available to all individuals and institutions around the world for free via the Internet.

From the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law

Makes millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience.

Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 366 billion archived web pages.

From Internet Archive

The United States Census Bureau's official data website. Allows users to access and compare extensive data from the census.

Official website of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, a federal agency responsible for ensuring the safety of drugs, biological products and medical devices, the food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.

The Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) empowers the media and marketing industries to thrive in the digital economy.

Official website of the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan institution that conducts social science research within the United States. Includes research on a wide range of public opinion and social issue topics.

Public Edition allows one to map a number of demographic and economic variables.

Convert just about anything to anything else.
Thousands of units, and millions of conversions.

Website offering basic information about more than 7,000 hospitals nationwide. Offers a profile search tool that can be used to compare characteristics between different hospitals.

From Cochrane Collaboration. Free access to the abstracts and, where available, the plain language summaries of all Cochrane systematic reviews. Links to the full-text versions are available on each page.

.

Geneva Foundation for Medical Education and Research

Promoting free access to medical books

Health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health.

Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University

Official website of the CDC, a U.S. federal agency dedicated to protecting the public's health. Operates under the oversight of the Department of Health and Human Services.

Official website of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the federal agency responsible for enhancing the enhance the health and well-being of all Americans.

Official website of the National Library of Medicine, the medical library of the U.S. federal government. Offers information resources in areas such as biomedical literature, health data standards, and the history of medicine.

Official website of the World Health Organization, the United Nations agency responsible for international public health. Features both quantitative and qualitative data on a myriad of health policy topics.

Collection of primary sources from Fordham University.

Database of medieval manuscript collections held in European libraries.

Collection of primary sources from Fordham University.

From Georgetown University

From Montclair State University

From University of Michigan

Project Gutenberg offers over 53,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
We carry high quality ebooks: Most Project Gutenberg ebooks were previously published by bona fide publishers. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.

Digital library of classic Christian literature, includes a section of works from the Early Church Fathers.

Full text of 12 volume scholarly encyclopedia published in 1906.

Official English language site for The Vatican.

Famous crimes, cases, and criminals.

Website offering searchable records of information about films, television series, video games, and streaming content online. Includes cast, production crew, ratings, reviews and more.

Project Gutenberg offers over 53,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
We carry high quality ebooks: Most Project Gutenberg ebooks were previously published by bona fide publishers. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.

News and opinion website offering content centered on the arts.

Musopen is a non-profit focused on improving access and exposure to music by creating free resources and educational materials. They provide recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions.

Interactive map that shows you today's front pages of newspapers from around the world

free registration is required

The official census site for the US. Includes projected census information.